Sign In Forgot Password

Shabbat Services

Our doors are open to all who seek to worship, learn and serve the community.

 

Friday Evenings at 8:00 PM The family service is held on the first Friday of each month at 7:00 PM instead of 8:00 PM from September through June. Friday evening services during July and August will all be at 8:00 PM.

 

Saturday Mornings at 9:45 AM with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM.

 

Sunday Morning Minyan at 9:00 AM when Religious School is in session.

Note: Sunday Morning Minyan services are on hold during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Sign-up to Attend In-Person Shabbat Services

PBJC is pleased to currently offer in-person services for a limited number of attendees during Shabbat. Due to attendance limitations, pre-registration is required. Please register below to attend services on a particular Friday evening or Saturday morning. All attendees must follow the guidelines outlines in the PBJC COVID-19 Operations Document, including temperature checks and answering COVID-19 screening questions upon arrival, the wearing of facial coverings and compliance with social distancing regulations.

 

Click on the links below to register to attend in-person services on the date indicated:

 

Friday, November 27 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, November 28 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, December 4 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, December 5 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, December 11 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, December 12 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Saturday, December 12 at 5:30 PM Havdalah Service

Friday, December 18 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, December 19 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, December 25 - Zoom service only, no in-person attendance

Saturday, December 26 - Zoom service only, no in-person attendance

Friday, January 1 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, January 2 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, January 8 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, January 9 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, January 15 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, January 16 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, January 22 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, January 23 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, January 29 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, January 30 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, February 5 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, February 6 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, February 12 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, February 13 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, February 19 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, February 20 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, February 26 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, February 27 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, March 5 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, March 6 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, March 12 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, March 13 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, March 19 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, March 20 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, March 26 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, March 27 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, April 2 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, April 3 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, April 9 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, April 10 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, April 16 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, April 17 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, April 23 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, April 24 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, April 30 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, May 1 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, May 7 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, May 8 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, May 14 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, May 15 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, May 21 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, May 22 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, May 28 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, May 29 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, June 4 at 7:00 PM

Saturday, June 5 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, June 11 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, June 12 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, June 18 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, June 19 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

Friday, June 25 at 8:00 PM

Saturday, June 26 at 9:45 AM (with preliminary prayers at 9:30 AM)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lifecycle Events

Brit Ceremonies

A Brit Milah (Covenant of Circumcision for a boy) and a Berit Bat ceremony (Covenant of Daughter for a girl) are special ways for Jewish parents to express their gratitude and celebrate the new addition of a child to their family. 

 

The clergy at the Pine Brook Jewish Center is available to advise couples on these ceremonies, which marks the bringing of sons or daughters into the brit, or covenant, of Israel.

 

Bar and Bat Mitzvah

Few things impact a child’s Jewish awareness and self-confidence more strongly than leading our congregational family in prayer. Formal Hebrew classes begin in the third grade, and in four productive years, our young people gain the knowledge and confidence to celebrate this important life cycle event.

 

Bar/Bat Mitzvah is actually the celebration of a beginning, as the child starts to take responsibility for his or her own Jewish identity. A Bar/Bat Mitzvah is a joyous event for the family as well as for our entire congregation. After the Bar/Bat Mitzvah your child can continue with our Post-Hey class. We see commitment to life-long Jewish education as a goal for all our members.

 

Marriage

The celebration of the beginning of a life together as husband and wife is an intimate, joyful, and ceremonious occasion. The clergy counsels couples on preparing for their life together and the value of creating a Jewish home.

 

We also assist couples in shaping the ceremony to express their personal wishes within the framework of a Jewish wedding. As part of the celebration, the couple may be honored at the Shabbat service prior to the wedding with a special blessing before the Torah in the presence of friends and family. 

 

Conversion

Those interested in converting to Judaism are warmly and enthusiastically welcomed at Pine Brook Jewish Center. Interested individuals are encouraged to contact our Rabbi.

 

Death and Mourning

The Jewish tradition is founded on respect for those who have died and on providing comfort to those who are grieving. Members of our Pine Brook Jewish Center family are there to comfort, support and provide any necessary guidance to those who are bereaved.

 

Congregants are encouraged to turn to the Synagogue staff for advice on the practical matters and ritual surrounding the occurrence of death, burial and mourning. Our Rabbi and Cantor are available to officiate at funeral services for Synagogue members and their families, and are also available to guide families through the traditional mourning rituals in the days that follow burial.

Thu, November 26 2020 10 Kislev 5781